Located in Belém, Lisbon in an surrounding are closely linked to the Portuguese Discoveries, the Maritime Museumtells the history of the relationship between Portugal and the Sea. Founded 150 years ago, this museum was a pioneer in accessibility for people with reduced mobility.
It all started in 1863 when D.Luís I, the only Portuguese monarch to command a ship, an Oceanography enthusiast , decided to legislate the creation of a collection of testimonies related to maritime activity in Portugal. this collection assembled pieces of sixteenth and seventeenth centuries .
In 1934 , the works were beginning construction the building , where is now the Museum , at the Jerónimos Monastery . In 1948 Henrique Maufroy de Seixas donates in testament to his most valuable private collection , becoming the Maritime Museum great benefactor.
With the creation of all the legal tools in 1959 has begun the installation of the museum as we know it today , in the west and north wing of the Jerónimos Monastery .
The vast collection of the Museum of Marineembraces the whole history of navigation in Portugal . You can view navigation instruments , figureheads of some ships of the Portuguese Navy , models of important Portuguese ships , as the Tall ship Sagres or types of vessels fishing inshore and distant river . You can also view the Royal cabins of the last portuguese kings , who belonged to the Royal Yacht ” Amelia” . A pavilion highlighted Museum is also possible to see ships -sized , is the call of sandeels room where we can find ships river traffic and fishing . It is also in this pavilion we find three seaplanes , among which stands out the ” Santa Cruz III ” , which completed the first sea crossing of the South Atlantic in 1922 , made by Gago Coutinho and Sacadura Cabral
Being the primary mission of the Maritime Museum, the disclosure of its collection , was attention to visitors with special needs . So were eliminated any type of barriers that could prevent the passage of people with mobility problems . For people who are blind or have low vision have at their disposal a ” Touch Route ” along the permanent exhibition , where visitors can grope 44 pieces in six thematic areas . The course is supported by subtitles in Braille and two black and catalogs in Braille for the visually handicapped .